July, 2013

Murray State University once again a “Great College to Work For”

Murray garners recognition from the Chronicle for Higher Education in two faculty areas The Chronicle of Higher Education’s latest survey has found Murray State University to be one of the top universities in the nation for [...]

History faculty served as Advanced Placement Readers

Dr. Kathy Callahan, Dr. Zackery Heern and Dr. Marjorie Hilton, faculty members in Murray State University’s department of history, participated in the College Board’s Annual AP Reading in World History. Each June, AP teachers and college [...]

Wright receives Scripps Howard grant

Leigh Wright, an assistant professor of journalism and mass communications in the Arthur J. Bauernfeind College of Business at Murray State University, is one of six members of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass [...]

Exercise science degree program receives national accreditation

The exercise science program at Murray State University (MSU) has received initial accreditation from the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP). The program is offered through the MSU college of health sciences and [...]

Qualls recognized for his teaching methods

Dr. Kevin Qualls, assistant professor in Murray State University’s department of journalism and mass communications housed in the Arthur J. Bauernfeind College of Business, was recognized in the summer edition of Media Law Notes, the newsletter of [...]

Chemistry professor receives research award

Dr. Kevin M. Miller, assistant professor in the department of chemistry at Murray State University, has been awarded the prestigious Undergraduate New Investigator (UNI) award from the American Chemical Society’s Petroleum Research Fund for his proposed [...]

Wright selected a Kopenhaver Fellow

Leigh Wright, assistant professor and head of the journalism sequence in Murray State University’s department of journalism and mass communications housed in the Arthur J. Bauernfeind College of Business, is among 25 educators selected for the [...]

Dr. Walter G. Bumphus, national education figure, to lead 2013 MSU Homecoming Parade

Dr. Walter G. Bumphus, a 1992 Murray State University Distinguished Alumnus Award recipient, has been chosen to serve as the Grand Marshal for the 2013 MSU Homecoming Parade. The Homecoming celebration will be held Oct. 17-19. Bumphus currently serves [...]

Murray State University’s Dr. Stephen Cobb earns prestigious Fulbright Award

Cobb to network with United Kingdom peers on STEM education MURRAY, Ky. — Dr. Stephen Cobb, dean of the Jesse D. Jones College of Science, Engineering and Technology at Murray State University (MSU), is joining a [...]

Check Out Residential College Life at Murray State

Independence and opportunities It began at Oxford and Cambridge in England. Yale and Harvard universities later adopted it in the United States. And now Murray State brings it to you. It’s the residential college—a small, faculty-led [...]